Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Dons gear up for Palace

14 January 2013

AFC Wimbledon Ladies in Sunday cup showdown

AFC Wimbledon Ladies will be aiming to cause a cup surprise this Sunday when they entertain Crystal Palace Ladies.

The Dons have home advantage in the Surrey County Women’s Cup quarter-final showdown, but they will need to be at their best against a Palace side higher in the pyramid as Wimbledon’s opponents play in the South East Women’s Combination League.

AFC Wimbledon Ladies, who are currently third from bottom in the London and South East Regional Women’s Premier League, last won the Surrey County Women’s Cup in 2005.

Tony Milstead’s side know they will have to step-up on yesterday’s 2-2 draw against London Corinthians when they take on 2011 winners Palace at the Archbishop Tenison’s School Sports Ground, New Malden (1.00pm kick-off).

Though the Dons played well in spells, they needed goalkeeper Damaris Ott (pictured) to be at her best once again as she earned the player of the match award for an impressive display between the sticks.

All the goals came in a crazy spell of action just before the break. Emma Treanor started the ball rolling by opening the scoring four minutes before the break, but Grace Gibbs levelled for Corinthians three minutes later after a goalmouth scramble. Wimbledon were then punished for losing concentration from the kick-off when Katherine Long netted with an unstoppable volley, but there was still time before the break for Dons captain Louise Cooper to strike from the penalty spot after Bernice Tully was brought down.

Following such a frantic end to the first-half, there was little to enthuse about during the second-half and the Dons needed goalkeeper Ott to be in fine form to secure a point.

AFC Wimbledon Ladies: Damaris Ott, Lauren Bailey, Stacie Tull, Louise Cooper, Rose Maskell, Bernice Tully (Jodie Fernandes) Courtney Noble, Aramide Okekunle, Carlie Powell, Emma Treanor (Shannon Lindo, Vicky Blackburn (Kellie Pizzaferro).

Advertisement block