Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Player of the Year awards

17 April 2014

Deadline to vote is Friday at midnight

There’s still time for you to vote for the players from the first-team squad who have been your favourites over the course of the 2013/14 season.

Midnight on Friday is the deadline for supporters to vote for the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards via e-mail, but you can also vote at tomorrow’s match against Newport County AFC.

Our end-of-season awards will be made at our last home game of the season, against Morecambe on Saturday 26 April. As always, there will be two awards to be decided by you, the fans.

The WISA Allen Batsford Player of the Year award was won last season by Jack Midson (pictured receiving his award last season from Maureen Batsford and Neal Ardley). This year’s winner will be the latest in an illustrious line that stretches back to Kevin Cooper (Mk I), who received the inaugural award on the pitch at Molineux in 2002.

The Young Player of the Year will receive the Natalie Callow Memorial Trophy, donated by the Womble Underground Press, and it was won last season by Jonathan Meades. For this award, you can vote for any of the following players who have featured in the first team this season and who were 21 or under at the start of the campaign:

Jim Fenlon

George Francomb

Jake Nicholson

Harry Pell

George Porter

Tom Richards

Kevin Sainte-Luce

Michael Smith

Charlie Wyke

You have until midnight on Friday, 18 April to cast your vote.

All fans may vote, but if you’re a WISA or Dons Trust member, or a season ticket holder, please provide one of your membership/season ticket numbers when you vote.

Paper voting slips will be available again in the bars at the match against Newport County AFC on Friday. Please place your completed form in one of the WISA ballot boxes in the bars or hand it to a volunteer.

 . In all cases, please include your own name and any membership or season ticket number in the message. Young Player of the Year  and Player of the Year You can e-mail your vote for each category by clicking on

Advertisement block