Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Choose your best Dons goal

20 January 2014

Nominate your 2013 favourite

There's still time to vote for your best Wimbledon goal of 2013 as part of a Football League competition.

All clubs in the league have been asked to choose an entry for the Mitre Goal of the Year and we want supporters to help us put together a shortlist of six via the official AFC Wimbledon Twitter account or e-mail. This needs to be done by 11.00 am tomorrow morning.

Once we’ve put together our shortlist, we will ask Neal Ardley to choose his number one AFC Wimbledon goal for 2013. We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, including goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup, and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

Wimbledon scored plenty of memorable goals during the final few months of last season in their epic battle to stay up and there were certainly a few cracking strikes during the club’s great start to 2013/14.

for our twitter page and tweet using #DonsBestGoal.Goals comp  or send to our official Twitter account. Click on  Your AFC Wimbledon   You can send in via e-mail by clicking on   Please nominate the Dons player who scored your favourite goal (one selection only please) and the opposition (home or away).

The overall winner will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday, 16th March 2014.  A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9 February. Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

  . More InformationTo further details about The Football League Awards, please click on 

Advertisement block