Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Possible JPT opponents

31 July 2014

Groupings for first round announced

AFC Wimbledon will be drawn against one of seven teams in the first round of the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy after regional groupings were announced by the Football League.

The draw will be made on Saturday, 16 August, with 16 clubs awarded byes into round two as in previous seasons.

League 1 sides Gillingham, Leyton Orient, Crawley Town and Peterborough are among the sides Wimbledon could draw and a list of possible opponents is published below.

The Football League also announced that it will trial the use of vanishing spray, used by match officials at the World Cup, in the first round.

It will also give us the ability to gauge the opinions of players, managers, referees and fans.” Football League Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey, said: “Having seen it used in the recent World Cup, the introduction of vanishing spray into the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy will give us the opportunity to observe its use in domestic football so that we can better understand its effect on the flow of the game.

The League will not be using vanishing spray in any matches played in the Sky Bet Football League or Capital One Cup during 2014/15, but will consider its introduction at the end of the current campaign.

AFC Wimbledon were involved in a thrilling first round Johnstone’s Paint Trophy match last season at Griffin Park as the Dons were defeated 5-3 by Brentford. George Francomb (pictured getting the better of Brentford's defenders) provided the highlight when he finished off a superb team move, which Neal Ardley selected as his goal of 2013.

Below shows the regional groupings for the first round of the JPT:


Northern Section – West

Accrington Stanley

Carlisle United

Crewe Alexandra

Fleetwood Town


Preston North End


Shrewsbury Town

Northern Section – East


Bradford City


Mansfield Town

Notts County

Oldham Athletic

Scunthorpe United

York City

Southern Section – West

Cheltenham Town

Coventry City

Newport County

Oxford United


Swindon Town

Wycombe Wanderers

Yeovil Town

Southern Section – East

AFC Wimbledon

Cambridge United

Crawley Town


Leyton Orient

Peterborough United

Southend United



The following clubs will receive byes:



Northern Section


Port Vale

Tranmere Rovers


Burton Albion

Doncaster Rovers

Hartlepool United

Sheffield United

Southern Section

Bristol City

Exeter City

Northampton Town

Plymouth Argyle

Colchester United

Dagenham & Redbridge

Luton Town

Milton Keynes


Advertisement block