Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Players released list

7 May 2014

Wimbledon manager wishes players all the best

Neal Ardley has today confirmed the players who will be leaving AFC Wimbledon as he aims to revamp his squad during the summer.

The list is as follows: Seb Brown, Will Antwi, Peter Sweeney, Jack Midson, Charlie Strutton, Luke Moore, Rhys Weston, Callum Kennedy.

Both Charlie Sheringham (away) and Jake Nicholson (illness) are set to be reviewed in the next two weeks.

Neal was quick to pay tribute to those on the released list for their contributions to the club.

Neal Ardley said: “Some of the players have played a massive part in the club’s history and they will always be welcome back as heroes. The rest of them have given great service during the last year or two. All the players released have given everything for the club and we will support them in their future careers. We wish them all the best.

“Decisions were made on each of the players based on certain factors. Some we could not afford to keep and others played in positions that we decided needed a shake-up.”

Of course, Seb Brown and Luke Moore will always be remembered in club history for being a part of the squad that helped Wimbledon back to the Football League on 21 May, 2011. Both played key roles in the 4-3 penalty shoot-out win against Luton Town with Seb memorably saving two penalties and Luke also scoring from the spot.

 .Your AFC Wimbledon  to listen to a WDON audio interview after this game. The interview that Seb gave to Ivor Heller after the Morecambe match is available by clicking on  Seb BrownIt was perhaps written in the stars that Seb would bow out on a high by clinching silverware and last night the goalkeeper’s experience proved crucial for a young AFC Wimbledon squad as they won the London Senior Cup. Click on 

Jack Midson also earned his place in AFC Wimbledon folklore after scoring the penalty against Fleetwood that kept the Dons in the Football League on a dramatic final-day of 2012/13. Jack scored 42 goals in all competitions during three seasons at the club, including 20 in 2011/12, when Wimbledon really needed a striker to step-up to the mark after the loss of Danny Kedwell.

AFC Wimbledon wishes to thank all the players on the released list for their contributions to the club.

We wish to point out that all the other permanent players from the 2013/14 squad are under contract, apart from Sammy Moore, Aaron Morris, Darren Jones and Jim Fenlon. All of these four players have been offered new deals that we hope they will sign. The club will, of course, update supporters throughout the summer about Neal Ardley’s squad for next season.

Advertisement block