Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

A memorable awards night

28 May 2015

Ladies and Girls savour an unforgettable season

AFC Wimbledon Ladies and Girls celebrated their fine achievements at an end of season awards ceremony with Neal Ardley presenting individual and team accolades.

Thirteen months after his appointment, ladies manager Chris Lyons toasted a hugely successful season with a third place finish and glory in the Surrey Women’s Cup.

Chris and his squad, along with the successful development side and girls teams from U-11s to U-16s, are pictured in our gallery above (pictures by Johnny Devereaux).

The target for the ladies first-team next season is simple – the league title and promotion!

Ladies sponsor Mike Richardson announced at the end of season awards that he would reward such an achievement by taking the whole squad to Las Vegas!

However, the success of AFC Wimbledon Ladies and Girls last season was not down to one player and the club wished to place on record its thanks to every single team, player, family, friend, manager, coach, official, volunteer and sponsor who has contributed.

The end of season awards got underway with ex Wimbledon fitness coach Jenny Archer and current AFC Wimbledon Ladies fitness coach David Weir presenting awards.

Below are the award winners for each age group with team honours also listed:

Girls Under -14s (Surrey County Womens & Girls Premier League runners-up)

Jasmine Backhurst Managers Player of the Year:

Emily Coutinho Managers Player of the Year:

Jasmin Baker Players’ Player of the Year:

Jasmin Baker Parents Player of the Year:

nine-a-side tournament winners)  (MJFC Girls Under- 11s

Eimah Heduvan Most Improved Player of the Year:

Saskia Maliki Players’ Player of the Year:

Chloe Hearne Parents Player of the Year:

Girls Under-12 Yellows

Marie Osen Managers Player of the Year:

Alice Fraser Most Versatile Player of the Year:

Olivia Fairhurst Players’ Player of the Year:

Olivia Fairhurst  Top Goalscorer:

Girls Under 12 Blues

Abby Delves Managers Player of the Year:

Becky Olumodeji Most Improved Player of the Year:

Rosa Tims Most Committed Player of the Year:

Shauna Doherty Players’ Player of the Year:

Katie Buchan  Top Goalscorer:

:Girls U-12s team honours were as follows

Surrey County Womens & Girls League Challenge Cup runners-up

Surrey Girls Futsal Qualifiers Winners

South East Regional Girls Futsal Qualifiers Winners

Girls Under 15s

Maddie Sweetman Managers Player of the Year:

Orla Jordan Most Improved Player of the Year:

Sabrina McCann Players’ Player of the Year:

Girls Under-16s

Emma McLoughlin Managers Player of the Year:

Rachel Wood Most Improved Player of the Year:

Taiye Lawal Players Player of the Year:

Girls Under 13s

(Surrey County Womens & Girls Premier League Champions)

(Surrey County Womens & Girls League Challenge Cup runners-up)

Georgina Eden-Hasler Managers Player of the Year:

Rayelle Blair Most Improved Player of the Year:

Sophie Ross Most Improved Player of the Year:

Lucy Taylor Players’ Player of the Year:

Development Team

(Greater London Women’s Football League Division 1 Champions and John Greenacre Memorial Trophy Winners)

Bernice Tully Managers Player of the Year:

Jess Drage Most Improved Player of the Year:

Jodie Weller Players Player of the Year:

(Surrey Women’s Cup Winners)First-team

Caroline Bisson Managers Player of the Year:

Liane Tylee Most Improved Player of the Year:

Caroline Bisson Players’ Player of the Year:

Several other trophies were also handed out on the evening with WDON’s Geoff Hawley, Chairman Dennis Lowndes and Life President Carl Sims making presentations . One of these was the President’s Cup with Carl selecting the ladies development squad for their “camaraderie, skill and self-belief." Of course, the ladies development team won a league and cup double in a brilliant season of glory.

Club Treasurer and Press Officer Vicki Lowndes received the Club Person of the Year award (sponsored by Radio WDON) and Caroline Bisson was presented with the Radio WDON First-Team Player of the Year award.

They were awarded with their Jack Petchey Foundation Awards for May and June) respectively. The final awards of the night were presented to Shauna Doherty and Allana Francis-Ashmeil for their dedication to the club over the season.

 AFC Wimbledon Ladies and Girls wished to thank Johnny Devereaux for supplying the photographs on the night and thank Tony Edgcombe for his hard work in pulling the programme together.  The club wishes   a first official end of season programme. as their generosity allowed the club to present those who attended with a keepsake and 

 The club also wished to thanks its many guests, including Mike Richardson (Ladies First Team Sponsor), Paul Bentley & Anna Klimowska from Assertive Trading (Ladies Development Team Sponsors), Emma O’Connor (AFC Wimbledon Foundation Female Football Development Officer), Roger & Linda Dennis (AFC Wimbledon Golden Goals and Junior Dons), Paddy Sweeney (ex-AFC Wimbledon Bars Manager), Neal Ardley and Jenny Archer.

A raffle raised £484.25 and the generosity of those who donated prizes and guests who purchased tickets was much appreciated.

Advertisement block