Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Bayo honoured to win awards

3 May 2015

Picture gallery features Player of the Year awards

Bayo Akinfenwa said he was honoured to receive two Player of the Year awards at the end of an impressive first season with AFC Wimbledon.

Bayo is pictured above with the WISA Allen Batsford Player of the Year award and Maureen Batsford, who presented the accolade.

Our picture gallery above shows the club’s other award winners Deji Oshilaja and James Shea, along with Sponsor’s Man of the Match Ryan Sweeney.

It was another eventful day for Bayo Akinfenwa as he picked up two awards, set-up Wimbledon’s equaliser and held up a number eight shirt as a gesture to returning team-mate Sammy Moore after the death of his mother. Also pictured in our gallery is Bayo accompanied on the lap of honour by his young children and the striker receiving the Junior Dons award. 

Bayo, who struck 15 goals this season, said: “I am truly honoured and blessed to have been voted Junior Dons Player of the Year and Supporters’ Player of the Year. It's been a good season with some stand-out moments, which goes to show with hard work and self-belief anything is possible.”

Of course, Bayo scored the winner to knock Milton Keynes out of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy and he also struck the equaliser in the gallant FA Cup defeat to Liverpool.

The full list of awards and winners is published below:

Bayo Akinfenwa (WISA Allen Batsford Player of the Year and Junior Dons Player of the Year)

James Shea (Radio WDON Player of the Year)

Deji Oshilaja (Natalie Callow Memorial Trophy for AFCW Young Player of the Year, sponsored by Womble Underground Press)

The picture gallery above features photographs by Stuart Butcher on behalf of Pro Sports Images.

Advertisement block