Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote: Players of the Year

20 April 2016

Make your selections now

It’s that time of year again when we ask you to vote for the players from our first-team squad who have been your favourites over the course of the 2015/16 season.

Who deserves the accolade of Player of the Year? Is it the top goalscorer, or the scorer of the best goal? Is it the midfield workhorse, or the hero of our defence? Or maybe it’s the player who has put in the most time off the pitch, attending club and community events with a smile on his face. Whatever your reasoning, the choice is yours.

Our end-of-season awards will be made at our last home league game of the season, against Newport County on Saturday 7 May.

As always, there will be two awards to be decided by you, the fans.

The WISA Allen Batsford Player of the Year award was won last season by Adebayo Akinfenwa. This year’s winner will be the latest in an illustrious line that stretches back to Kevin Cooper (Mk I), who received the inaugural award on the pitch at Molineux in 2002.

The Young Player of the Year will receive the Natalie Callow Memorial Trophy, donated by the Womble Underground Press and won last season by Adedeji Oshilaja. For this award, you can vote for any of the following players who have featured in the first-team this season and who were 21 or under at the start of the campaign:

Adebayo Azeez

Tom Beere

Dan Gallagher

David Fitzpatrick

Ben Harrison

Egli Kaja

Will Nightingale

George Oakley

Ryan Sweeney

You have until Saturday 30 April to cast your vote. All fans may vote, but if you’re a WISA or Dons Trust member, or a season ticket holder, please provide one of your membership/season ticket numbers when you vote.

You can vote by using a voting form, by email or online. Paper voting slips will be handed out by volunteers and are also available in the bars at the matches against Leyton Orient and Portsmouth, on 18 and 26 April respectively. Please place your completed form in one of the WISA ballot boxes in the bars or hand it to a volunteer.

 Alternatively, you can e-mail your vote for the Player of the Year to  and your vote for the Young Player of the Year to

 You can also e-mail votes for both awards to In all cases, please include your own name and any membership or season ticket number in the message.

 Votes for the Young Player of the Year can be registered online at

The deadline for all votes is Saturday 30 April.

Advertisement block