Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Jack earns selection for league 11

Defender's progress is acknowledged by the LFE

29 November 2019

Jack Madelin's impressive progress this season has been recognised by the League Football Education (LFE).

‘The 11’ acknowledges the football and academic progress of Under-18 players on apprenticeships at current or former English Football League (EFL) clubs - and is also designed to assess other factors, including involvement in community or charity-based initiatives.

Having made his first-team debut and earned a pro deal this season, Jack has deservedly been selected for the honour by the LFE.

During the 2019-20 season, 33 apprentices will be selected for the award, which celebrates the holistic development of young players and is a barometer applied to the LFE Apprentice of the Year awards. All three Academy players to triumph at the EFL Awards in April – Max Bird (Derby County), Daniel Adshead (Rochdale AFC, now Norwich City) and Arthur Iontton (Stevenage) – were also previously named in The 11.

Other notable Academy graduates to earn the accolade includes Dominic Calvert-Lewin (formerly of Sheffield United), Lewis Cook (formerly of Leeds United), Ademola Lookman (formerly of Charlton Athletic), Oli McBurnie (formerly of Bradford City) and Ryan Sessegnon (formerly of Fulham).

LFE chief executive Sarah Stephen added: “The 11 is directly associated with apprentice reviews that are conducted by our regional officers throughout the season. It is a great way to highlight the achievements and progression of talented young footballers who apply themselves to all aspects of their apprenticeship.”

For in-depth profiles on all of the players named in ‘The 11’ for November, visit the LFE website.

The 11 for November 2019 are as follows:
• Jack Madelin (AFC Wimbledon)
• Jude Bellingham (Birmingham City)
• Jarrad Branthwaite (Carlisle United)
• Liam Thompson (Derby County)
• Vaughn Covil (Forest Green Rovers)
• Liam Gibbs (Ipswich Town)
• Gianluca Bucci (Lincoln City)
• Sam Beckwith (Luton Town)
• Tyler Goodrham (Oxford United)
• Harry Kavanagh (Portsmouth)
• Luke Matheson (Rochdale AFC)

Advertisement block