Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

From 1987-2002: Your choices from an epic era

Vote via e-mail later on today

29 March 2023

Club News

From 1987-2002: Your choices from an epic era

Vote via e-mail later on today

29 March 2023

It was an era that included an historic FA Cup win, making the Premier League's top six, and reaching two domestic cup semi-finals in one season.

Yes, the 15 years from 1987-2002 was definitely a golden era for Dons supporters - and now we're asking you to make some particularly difficult decisions.

That's because we want your three selections for the Hall of Fame - providing a lasting Dons legacy for years to come. 

We’ll be asking you by e-mail later today to choose three players from the following list:


  • John Fashanu
  • Chris Perry
  • John Scales
  • Kenny Cunningham
  • Marcus Gayle
  • Michael Hughes
  • Neil Sullivan
  • Vinnie Jones
  • Warren Barton
  • Robbie Earle

More information on each player.

Over the past three months, our Hall of Fame Committee – 20 volunteers who answered our call earlier this year – have trawled through the archives to produce a shortlist of 10 for seven different eras, as follows:

  • Pre-war
  • 1945-63
  • 1964-77
  • 1978-86
  • 1986-2002
  • 2002-2011
  • 2011 to present day

The top three in each category will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Voting will stay open for the previous eras that we've publicised so far.

The first phase for the Hall of Fame concentrates only on male players, but over the next few years the Committee will look at how to honour our women’s side, managers and volunteers.

To be eligible to vote you must be in one of following groups: Dons Trust Members, Junior Dons, Season Ticket holders, Debenture holders, iFollow subscribers, and those who have purchased an item online from the club shop during the past 12 months.

Voting will continue each Wednesday, including details via e-mail on how to cast your vote.

Please note that if you're in one of the above groups, but you're not subscribed to our newsletter, you'll need to sign-up to be able to vote.

Subscribe to our e-mail send out by filling out this form.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account